High Five, Marvel!

on

marvel-2

Dear Marvel,

I’m so excited for the directions that you’re going these days. I can’t express enough how much gratitude that you’re paying attention to a younger generation.

For the past thirty years you’ve always been part of my emotional treasure trove – as a child I grew up with the Byrne/Claremont X-Men as well as the Micronauts (remember them?) When real life became too boring or difficult, I’d flop on my bed and haul out the brown grocery bag of back issues and re-read all the books that had been given to me.

Now, there was a time in my life when I decided to “put away childish things”, and sold my collection. In the 90s I was too busy pursuing girls or college and I was turned off by your many foil covers, spikes and pouches on everything. I looked at black and white indie comics then. I craved stories that had sensitive characters. Fantagraphics filled the hole with Love and Rockets, that you left behind.

And then, slowly, now in my 40s I’ve returned to the fold. Thanks to Marvel Unlimited and exposure to All Comics Considered I was able to recapture some of the magic of my youth! Not only was I able to affordably look at new characters (Ms. Marvel, Squirrel Girl, a whole new Guardians of the Galaxy), but I could still dig back into the archives any time I want.

Yeah, instead of having to find collections of graphic novels, I can just fire up my tablet and re-read those old X-Men. Amazing. What a fantastic job you have done of recapturing old fans and bringing in new fans. With your commitment to introducing so many new minority heroes: The Hulk is now a Korean guy, Thor is a woman, Ms. Marvel is a Pakistani-American, Spider-Man is African-Puerto Rican, the reinvigoration of Black Panther, as a minority myself I strongly appreciate your efforts.

You’ve changed, Marvel. I’m so glad that I am part of this new era. You have shown that you care about your old fans by letting us have our archival comics, and you have shown that you love your new fans by embracing diversity with both arms. I look forward to every Monday now instead of dreading the work week since that’s when new releases on Marvel Unlimited happen.

Right now? I can’t imagine not cherishing what we have together. Keep up the Amazing, Uncanny, Fantastic work Marvel.

Take care of yourself – I truly love you the best.

 

Love Always,

Your Eternal Biggest Fan

 

Leave a Reply

